Skip to main content

Welcome to Hamma Library!

First floor, the Learning Commons

Six public use computers located on the first floor of Hamma Library

Circulation Desk

Staffed during library hours to help answer any questions

Book Drop

Located outside the south entrance of the seminary

Reference Room

Non-circulating items kept on hand for in-library use.

Periodicals

Active subcriptions, shelved alphabetically by title.

Room 2A

Main Collection book stacks A-BT 74

Room 2B

Main Collection book stacks BT 75-BX

Rare Book Room

Climate controlled room accessible by permission of Library Director

Room 3

Main Collection book stacks C-Z

First Floor

  • Learning Commons
  • Circulation desk
  • Curriculum Center
  • Staff Offices
  • Book Drop - Located outside of the south entrance to the seminary.
  • Copier and Scanning equipment 
  • Reference Collection, including Biblical Language and Worship and Music Resource Tables.
  • Current Periodicals
  • Spanish Language and Language Learning Resources

Second Floor

  • Conference Room - Reservations are recommended. Ask at the Circulation Desk.
  • Room 2A - Main Collection book stacks housing items with call numbers A-BT 74.
  • Room 2B - Main Collection book stacks (call numbers BT 75–BX), plus all audio tapes and VHS cassettes
  • Restricted Collections (see Director for access)
    • Rare Book Room - pre-1850 books
    • Historical Collection Room - archive copies of Trinity, ELTS, and Hamma publications, Synod minutes, and faculty publications.

Third Floor

  • Main Collection book stacks housing call numbers C-Z, as well as Juvenile books, oversized “Folio” books, and older periodicals.

If you need help finding items, please ask at the Circulation Desk. 

  • Finding library materials while on the TLS campus:

“Circulating items” are those that can be borrowed and are housed upstairs on the second and third floors. Reference materials and current periodicals do not circulate and are shelved on first floor,  beyond the Circulation Desk. Inactive subscription and discontinued periodicals are shelved on the third floor.  Periodicals are shelved alphabetically by title. Books are shelved according to their Library of Congress call number.

  • About the "call number'':

The call number is the identification number put on each book to help keep them in order on the shelves. The first sections of the call number represent the subject of the book. The letter-and-decimal section of the call number often represents the author's last name. Remember that the decimal changes the arrangement. For example, BX8065 .K75 would be after BX8065 .K6 but before BX8065 .K78. The last section of a call number is often the date of publication.

We prefer that you borrow and return items while you are on campus (rather than shipping them via surface mail).  For exceptions, please contact the Circulation Supervisor or Public Services Librarian.

Loading
Hamma Library | Trinity Lutheran Seminary
2199 E Main St | Columbus, OH 43205
614-235-4136 | tlslibrary@tlsohio.edu